82 gs850 wont run without choke

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

82 gs850 wont run without choke

Ok quick question before I have to leave for work, I've been tinkering with this bike all morning.

Its a 82 GS850GL that I recently purchased not running. I have torn the carbs down and cleaned them, they recently had a rebuild kit installed but the previous owner didn't clean them well at all. I got the bike started with full choke but when even I try to turn the choke off or open the throttle ANY it dies.

I opened the air screws 1.5 turns, the float levels are within limits, and I did bench sync them. The airbox had some holes drilled in the top for a ghetto mount set up, I taped those up thinking they would allow too much of an air leak but that didn't help any. With the choke on it will crank up each and every time, seems to idle a bit high but not sure how many rpms ( tach cable is broken and new one hasnt gotten here yet)

I am new to motorcycles but I have worked on EFI engines a good bit and my carb experience has been limited to Cessnas, solo updraft carb is easy to work on.

With the choke pulled and running I did squirt a bit of carb cleaner around the boots and carbs with no noticable change in RPMS, so the boots dont appear to be leaking any.

Any ideas where to look next? Sorry if my question has been covered before, I tried to search but probably used the wrong parameters heh.

Hi Mr. RobC,

Yours sound like classic lean symptoms. Squirting stuff around the intake boots is not a reliable test. New intake boots and O-rings may be in order here. Do you have a new, lightly oiled air filter installed? Is the airbox properly sealed? Check the garage section here on this website and my webpage for more information. It's all here in my mega-welcome page. Keep us informed.

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

Comment