Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Measuring squish band and deck height

Hey guys,

I've finally got the lower end of my 550/650 build together and now comes the fun part. I have a few questions for the experts. Sorry for so many as this is my first time going to this level.

I want to get the squish band right so I was wondering if I can put the cylinder on without the gasket or is it necessary to waste one for measuring?

If I can go gasketless, how do I determine the torqued thickness of the gasket?

If I put solder on the piston and measure the compressed thickness at the ends, that is telling me the squish measurement correct? How does that relate to deck height?

Lastly, do I need to measure each piston or can I get away with just putting one piston on and just measuring the one?

BTW, I'm using an OEM base gasket that measures .54mm thick and the head gasket measures 1.4mm.

Thanks,

Sci85
    1982 GS550M Rebuilt Winter '12 - 550 to 673cc engine conversion.
    1989 Kawasaki ZX-7 Ninja
    2016 Ducati Scrambler Full Throttle

Don't over think it. Put in stock gaskets and run it.
    1978 GS550 E
    673cc swap / the hot rod

2013 GSXR
    New daily rider

2012 RMZ450
    for playing in the dirt

Comment

Originally posted by boontonmike View Post
      Don't over think it. Put in stock gaskets and run it.
      Well, yes, you could...but you've gone this far now...

You should be able to put a fresh base gasket in, do a trial assembly of the block and pistons - pistons without rings,pins just pushed in etc. Measure piston crown to deck distance - but don't forget to put spacers on at least 6 studs and nip the barrel down when you measure.
      Piston crown edge to top of deck plus gasket thickness equals squish height.
      Ideally you're aiming for around .040in or 1.0mm for road and general use.
      Anything which needs to come off to achieve this comes off the top of the cylinder block.