Can we prevent this

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can we prevent this

I live in SoCal, near L.A. and I ride. I just started riding, and it pains me to see all those who've died so young. Can these fatalities be prevented? I love to ride, and I love life! I haven't had any real close calls yet, but I know they're coming. Anyone have any advice that might save a life in the California freeways?

Something that has kept me alive for my almost 40 years of riding motorcycles:

1. YOU ARE INVISIBLE. That means that since they can't see you, they will do whatever they want, right in front of you.

2. THERE ARE A SPECIAL FEW THAT CAN SEE YOU, but they are aiming at you.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Take a motorcycle safety foundation course.
      Where I live they are free, but I don't know about California.

Comment

All good advice. Also, gear up with quality protection, don't be stupid, and always have an escape route.

Comment

You've already got the right attitude - you know it's coming. Every time you put your helmet on keep thinking something bad could happen, then you have a better chance of handling it when it does.
          -Mal

"The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once." - B. Banzai

78 GS750E

Comment

I told my son, whenever you are riding, just assume that whatever the WORST thing that could happen WILL happen and plan for it. By being constantly on your guard you will be already prepared for that eventual time something DOES happen.