Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS750 back to nice.

Hi Guys,

I'm new here. Decided to, finally, make some work of the old GS. I've been driving it for about 2,5 years, bought it in a not so good state, and had to buy another motorcycle at some point because I didn't believe this one to be very reliable anymore. Long story short, the older one wins when it comes to getting me to smile. The problem these last few years has been that I don't really have a lot of space to tinker away, nor a lot of money. So it will have to be a 'one-at-a-time' job mostly. Still, I would very much like to see it back to a reasonable state again.

Work to do for as far as I know (newbie at motor-mechanics):

• Fix/replace exhaust (Hole in the left exhaust), blue discoloring
    • Replace headgasket (heard a loud bang whilst riding, after which it started to leak oil. Happened right after its last servicing at a shop)
    • Clean the carburators
    • Fix/replace seat (not the original anymore, but done for)
    • Check the suspension.
    • Get a new rear tire ^^

The motorcycle doesn't have to ride at the moment as I own a GSR also, but it can't be in parts for a long time either, due to space. With that in mind, what would be my best starting point? What are major problems I have to look out for? I already came across BikeCliff's formal welcome, but just starting without a good idea of what I'm doing seems a little daunting at the moment. I would really like to learn how to keep these machines in a good condition, but unfortunately I don't know anyone close to where I live who could help me with it.

Some photo's for you guys:
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Guest; 01-04-2016, 07:31 PM.