Top end oiler

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Top end oiler

Saw this on Ebay. PM'd the seller, he will be selling these regularly now. I had considered doing this myself, but the fittings and hose alone are close to the bolt it on and go price.
    sigpic
    09 Kaw C14 Rocket powered Barcalounger
    1983 GS1100e
    82\83 1100e Frankenbike
    1980 GS1260
    Previous 65 Suzuki 80 Scrambler, 76 KZ900, 02 GSF1200S, 81 GS1100e, 80 GS850G

be careful running base stainless line; hose will wear right through anything it touches. The teflon coated stuff does not abrade.

The rails usually push much less oil to the exhaust which is where it is needed most, so this approach would provide equal flow to both. The other war is to run the rails backward with the oil feeding the exhaust first.

Comment

I'm pretty new to this, but how necessary is this kit? What are the "qualifications" before it becomes "necessary"?
      1982 GS1100E "Jolene"

Comment

One of our members here was making his own kits. Greg I believe. I also believe he swore off making more because of the work involved and minimal profit. Hopefully he's still around and will chime in regarding this ebay kit.

Running four lines eliminates the need for the the oil distribution bars that connect the two feed ports on the side of the head, thus the machining required is minimized. Jim is correct in mentioning how abrasive the outer stainless sheath can be. I've never seen teflon coated on the outside, just vinyl. I believe the inner liner for the line is teflon though. Same stuff as used for brake lines.
        Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment