what's up from western CT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what's up from western CT

Hey everyone.... just bought a 1981 GS750...it's a runner but I'm sure it has issues to be dealt with. this is my second project... my first was a Honda CX 500 Deluxe. I'm not a bike mechanic...far from it...so I will be looking for some help for sure. the bike looks pretty good cosmetically but I will be modding it nonetheless...it's winter here so what else am I gonna do...some pictures of the bike now and some ideas of where I will go with it once I lower the resolution and reduce the file sizes...I will need to download the FSM if anyone has a link that would be helpful...otherwise I will search the forum....looking forward to all of your input in the coming months...

Pics of as she sits now and some ideas of where to go with the customization. will be a few posts as I am only allowed one pic per post...
    Attached Files

Comment

first idea...not my current path though
      Attached Files

Comment

Second idea...
        Attached Files

Comment

this is the direction I am leaning towards most...rear of tank will be raised a bit...rear seat and cowl will be one off hand crafted from aluminum (side covers too). tank stripped and clear coated...but still possibility of leaving it red and painting the new pieces to match. up front still undecided....probably change headlight (maybe dual headlight)...and maybe simplified gauge cluster...
          Attached Files

Comment

Welcome and good morning Greg!

Nice ride...I'm partial to 750s as I own two "T's". Anyway...interesting ideas you have going on with the seat and other things I'm sure I'm missing (because I'm not that great when it comes to noticing little niches).

I like how you came up with those ideas and photo shopped the image (I'm saying photo shopped because I don't know if there's another name for it).

Service manuals are located here: http://members.dslextreme.com/users/bikecliff/