81 GS450EX carb/intake/airbox rebuild/boot replace tips to make it easier

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

81 GS450EX carb/intake/airbox rebuild/boot replace tips to make it easier

I'm a GS noob, however 20 years working on jet engines.. I have some tech savvy.

Removing the carbs.

Before I set out to replace the intake boots, clean the carbs and replace the air box boots, I did some homework to try and make this a streamlined process and avoid any hiccups. So this is what I did... couldn't find a thread or sticky on the removal.

1. Disconnect and remove battery.

2. Drain and remove gas tank. If I have to explain how to do this... stop right here and pay someone to do this.

3. Disconnect throttle cable from the right throttle grip. 2 phillips screws underside and unscrew the hip from the bottom and gently pull cable out and let it hang.

4. Using 2 10mm box end wrenches, loosen the throttle cable set nuts and remove cable from plate.

5. Locate the 4 screw/bolts holding the throttle cable plate to the top of the twin carbs.

6. Remove the screws, Remove the plate - set aside

7. You should be able to remove the plug end of the throttle cable from the carbs at this point fairly easy... unless you have catchers mitts for hands...you can carefully set the cable off to the side for now ( may be a good opportunity to lube the cable too before you put everything back together ) On install, put throttle cable on before sliding carbs completely in, just don't put on plate yet.

*****If you have pods you can skip to step 11 and omit any that does not apply*****

8. Locate the 3 10mm bolts holding the battery case to the bike, remove all 3 (1 front, 2 back) bolts and drop the case past the rear lip, you will see this.

9. Remove the clips from the top of the air box and remove the air box top cover

10. Remove the 2 screws on each side holding the air box to the frame.

11. Loosen the clamps on the air box boots, intake boots and crank case vent line.