Fork Seals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fork Seals

My motorcycle sat for 8 months before I got it running last week. When I bought it I noticed that the fork seals were leaking and by now I think they must be mostly drained out. The bike really easily bottoms out. So before I do anymore serious riding I want to fix this next. Is this an easy project? I looked at basecliff's tutorial and watched some youtube videos but I'm still a bit confused. What parts should I order? what tools do I need? is this an easy project? I'm not a total novice like I can do a brake job but rebuilding carbs is a bit over my head. While we are talking about shocks, the rear shocks have some surface rust should I replace them?
    1981 GS 850G

sigpic

Replacing for seals is a fairly easy job, especially with the walk thru tutorials found on Cliffs site. The most complicated tool you'll need is the tool to put down the fork in order to hold the hex bolt while you loose it at the end of the fork. Easily made though with a thread rod and a few nuts. You'll also need a piece of PVC piping the correct size to drift the seal into place, easy to find. Something to think about before you do this is do you want to replace the fork springs? If your rear shocks are stock then yes you should replace them, they're 35 years old....but with that in mind there's plenty of members on here to scrape their foot pegs and still have the 1979 stock shocks on their bikes. It's all about what you want.
    Rob
    1983 1100ES, 98' ST1100, 02' DR-Z400E and a few other 'bits and pieces'
    Are you on the GSR Google Earth Map yet? http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=170533

Comment

Now that I think about it I'm not sure if they are the original rear shocks. How can you tell? Either way they have some surface rust. Yea I took it for a ride around a couple miles and scraped the pegs making a pretty normal 30mph turn
      1981 GS 850G

sigpic

Comment