Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Charging Problems

Questions about charging issues...

First off, I have a 1979 Suzuki GS550E manufactured Jan 79. It's strange because it looks like the "L" model (seat and handlebars). A little background on myself - I have a Clymer manual and I am a journeyman electrician but not very mechanically savvy yet...

The battery went dead on me the other day so I replaced the battery with a new one. Since I've realized as I've been driving it the horn doesn't work and the headlight gets dim and gets to the point that it doesn't work - I believe the battery isn't charging..

I did a Clymer Manual System Output Test - the manual says: "only 2 phases of the alternator charge unless the headlight is on so it says to connect the white/green wire from the alternator to the white/red wire from the rectifier. This bypasses the light switch and connects all 3 phases of the alternator output to the rectifier"
    - I did this and it says I should read 16.5V at 5,000RPM or more if the alternator and rectifier is good - I was at 11.8 if I remember correctly. This tells me the bike is not charging which is what I thought....

The next thing it says to do is to check the rectifier - if the rectifier is fine then the alternator is not working. I understand how a three phase bridge rectifier works and how forward bias diodes will read low resistance and reverse bias they should read high resistance.

The trouble is, I cannot find a rectifier - I only see one part under my side covers - a Kokusan Denki RS2142 (says 12V regulator on it). Is this an aftermarket rectifier/regulator in one or is there a rectifier somewhere else for me to check and this is only the regulator?

The Suzuki Dealer in town is telling me a stator that they think is the right one is $271 plus tax (part number 31401-45030) and rectifier is $251.99 (part number 32800-44010).