Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1982 GS850G - Compufire R/R and Caltric Stator install

Will be documenting my install here.

Besides some minor electrical repair with basic soldering and shrink wrap skills, I have no experience doing this.

I picked up a Caltric stator for $37/free shipping. Including some photos if anyone is curious.

I will be installing this Compufire R/R:

Should I find a mating connector for the Compufire so that my stator connects to it using their fancy connector? Cut the connector off and wire directly to stator?

Just found this post.

I think I will order the 3 completed wires:

Anyone know the part number for that black 3 wire connector? (upper right)

Comment

I'm surprised, very crude winding job- appears hand wound. The machine wound units are much cleaner/ tighter. And I don't like the nylon cable ties. But it should work fine, cuz it doesn't need to be pretty
      1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

I just decided to say FTW and do an Electrosport Stator with my SH847AA R/R. Made all the difference in the world in every area of my 850GL. Cost - 847 with harness $200, Stator $80, peace of mind PRICELESS!!!

Comment

Originally posted by tom203 View Post
          I'm surprised, very crude winding job- appears hand wound. The machine wound units are much cleaner/ tighter. And I don't like the nylon cable ties. But it should work fine, cuz it doesn't need to be pretty
          yes, that's pretty bad. I dare say it's much worse than I do! and I'd be gluing the worst ones down but ....

Comment

I want to order this connector to wire directly to the stator wires.

The male connectors come in two choices of wire - which should I get?

"10" of 18 gauge black SXL wire, or 14 gauge white GXL wire."

Comment