Pods and exhaust nightmare

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pods and exhaust nightmare

Sorry for the story here but I'm thinking some history of what I have done might help. I'm new to building/modding this is my first project and am learning as I go. I have a 1980 GS550L. After returning from deployment I wanted to go all in. So I recently redid the electrical using the Motogadget Munit. It has simplified everything and fixed a lot of the electrical issues. So I moved onto the exhaust and Carbs. They have be recently rebuilt. Had to find some new used carbs. I tore out the air filter box and put on some K&N filters. I obviously learned there were some adjustments needed. After taking it out I was not able to get up over 20mph. I tried raising them up a knotch after That I was able to get up to 45mph maybe 50. But the higher I rev the less power I get. Since then I also put on a 4 into one exhaust. I could not get it to start up after that. I then raised the needles up to the last knotch. I am able to start with the choke all the way up and have to hold it that way. It will not Idle on its own. Please help, I feel lost in the sauce.

Did you change the main jet and pilot jet?

Comment

pods on a GS are a waste of money, time, frustration, and all other things that youll be chasing your azzz over. I never could understand why anyone would subject themselves to the crap just because pods "LOOK COOL'.

Not hating here.....just trying to wrap my thought process around what seems to be such a futile and useless exercise.
      MY BIKES..1977 GS 750 B, 1978 GS 1000 C (X2)
      1978 GS 1000 E, 1979 GS 1000 S, 1973 Yamaha TX 750, 1977 Kawasaki KZ 650B1, 1975 Honda GL1000 Goldwing, 1983 CB 650SC Nighthawk, 1972 Honda CB 350K4, 74 Honda CB550

NEVER SNEAK UP ON A SLEEPING DOG..NOT EVEN YOUR OWN.

I would rather trust my bike to a "QUACK" that KNOWS how to fix it rather than a book worm that THINKS HE KNOWS how to fix it.

Comment