How to Paint two tone paint scheme?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to Paint two tone paint scheme?

I am interested in painting or perhaps having someone paint my GS1000E for it's 30th anniversary. My GS1000 was repainted with Imron back in 1988, the paint held up remarkably well but the clear coat is lifting under the gas tank. Does anyone have experienced/expert advice on the current process of painting a two tone paint scheme ala factory Suzuki GS1000S, Iseloman GS1100ES or Cloudbreak's GS1000. Perhaps there is an article out there on the entire process & pitfalls.

My painting technique is sound and I understand the primer, base coat & clear coat process but I have no experience with painting that second contrasting color. So we are on the same page I will use the 1979/80 GS1000S as an example. The base coat would be white and the second contrasting color is blue. The issues I don't understand when painting the blue color are 1) First, should I use a special paint or can I merely paint another off the shelf base coat color over the first base coat color. 2) What tape or process do use to avoid the second color from bleeding over to the base coat? 3) What process do use to ensure the second color tape lines are razor sharp. I have read you use a razor knife? 4) How long should you wait before removing the tape 5) Is this process better left to a professional painter?

I believe painting my GS with a bright silver base coat and then a contrasting metallic blue paint (similar to the color below) scheme should look sharp. I am not interested in recreating a GS1000S paint job but rather a unique handsome paint scheme.
    1979 GS1000E (44 Yrs), 1981 GPz550
    Departed: 1970 Yamaha R5A, 1971 R5B, 1975 Honda XL250, 1983 Suzuki PE175, 1983 CB1100F, 1983 BMW R100RS, 1992 ST1100