83 GS1100e Cylinder Gasket Replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

83 GS1100e Cylinder Gasket Replacement

I developed a leak right the very front in the middle (where the hump with the 6mm bolt is) that is getting worse and need to replace the cylinder head gasket.

Besides the cam cover gasket and the actual cylinder head gasket, what other parts would you recommend to get in advance of pulling the head.

This is my first time doing this, what is the level of difficulty for someone with just average mechanical skills. Anyone have step by step of what to watch for, things I should absolutely do while having the head off, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, John

John, while it IS possible it could be the base gasket, I would first replace the o rings on the front, center 2 head nuts that are on both sides of the cam chain galley. I have seen this as the issue more times than the base gasket. Call me at 714-356-7845 if you want help or have more questions. Ray.

Comment

Originally posted by thewiz View Post

Besides the cam cover gasket and the actual cylinder head gasket, what other parts would you recommend to get in advance of pulling the head.
      Hey John, you will need an inch/lb and a ft/lb torque wrench, a good manual, and of course these great forum members.....Billy

Comment

Thanks guys! Ray, I will definitely try that first. Can you please let me know the part number you are referring to from the attached fische. Thanks!
        Last edited by thewiz; 10-12-2010, 10:47 PM.

Comment

Thanks guys! Ray, I will definitely try that first. Can you please let me know the part number you are referring to from the attached fische. Thanks!
          http://www.gssuzuki.com/fiche_image_...=CYLINDER+HEAD
          It would be part #17.

Comment