Gs450ga

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gs450ga

So let me start by saying that these bikes have been my first introduction to the world of motorcycles and I'm not very experienced with them. Earlier this summer I bought a pair of 1983 Suzuki gs450ga cycles at a swap meet. One had been in some sort of wreck and the other was missing a few parts but I got them for what I though was a good deal. Once I got home I started to take the missing pieces off of the banged up bike and put them on the other one. Finally got it so it would turn over but sounded bad and wouldn't idle. Sent it to a mechanic friend and he put a new ignition unit on it and it idles great. Only problem is that when it is put in gear, it dogs down and hardly runs. The farthest I've been able to drive it before it dies is about half a block. After reading a few other forums, my problem sounds a lot like Charlie G's. http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=196986 I don't know if this is part of the problem, or and additional one but nothing electrical works on the bike. I don't have any head or tail lights, turn signals, kickstand buzzer, or horn but the break light does work. Any help with this would be much appreciated.

I'm clueless, but what does your "mechanic friend" think? Does it rev up in neutral, but "dog" out in gear? maybe torque converter or rear drive issue. There are a few members here with this model- hopefully they will have ideas.

Basscliff's forum has good electrical diagrams- these are essential for tracing electrical faults.

1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment