Electrical Conundrum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Electrical Conundrum

My bike's been having a strange electrical problem since I stored it last fall and still acting the same. It originally started after using the electric starter multiple times in a row, and probably holding it on for too long. The bike will still kick start though...

The problem is when I click the electric starter the entire electrical system goes dead (no lights, etc.) After this the voltage reads 0 across the battery while the circuit is closed. (ignition key is in the on position) But... while the ignition is in the off position the battery returns to 12v.

Not sure (at all) where to begin looking for problems, and Im not very experienced with electronics. Anyone have any ideas of where to begin or how to test the electrical components? Thanks!

Mr. Witt,

Please tell us the history on your Battery. Has it ever been out of the Bike for service ? Age, charging, water level checked ?

Any chance of having a volt meter ? You can get a cheap one and they are easy to use. The readings you get are a must for proper electrical troubleshooting.
    82 1100 EZ (red)

"You co-opting words of KV only thickens the scent of your BS. A thief and a putter-on of airs most foul. " JEEPRUSTY

Comment

Sure. Its the same battery I had before the problem occurred (worked fine before), its less than a year old, was taken out for winter (charged a couple times) and again recently charged. Levels are good too.

I do own a multimeter. Just checked it at ~12v. And then goes to 0v when ignition key is turned to "on".

Comment

If it goes below about 10 volts when you activate the starter, the battery is toast, and needs to be replaced.