Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Serious chain problem

Hey everybody,

This afternoon I went on a nice ride to get my chain warmed up before cleaning and waxing. Got home, put bike ('81 GS 750 EX) on center stand, cleaned up and applied wax, which I let set for about 5 minutes. I put the bike in gear to check the chain and sprocket, and out of nowhere I get a loud clunking noise, a LOT of play in the chain (mainly side to side), so much so that I immediately killed it for fear of the thing rattling apart. I checked my tension and it was a little loose so I tightened it, thinking that might fix the problem. It didn't. From the sounds of it, the problem is in the gear box, but hopefully not in the transmission. I haven't taken the cover off yet to take a look (I had to go to work and leave my project unfinished!). I'm a total newb, so if this is an obvious problem, my apologies. Any ideas? Thanks.
    -Sam Hushagen

Sounds like your gearbox sprocket has come loose. Pull the cover and have a look.
    79 GS1000S
    79 GS1000S (another one)
    80 GSX750
    80 GS550
    80 CB650 cafe racer
    75 PC50 - the one with OHV and pedals...
    75 TS100 - being ridden (suicidally) by my father

Comment

I'll open her up first thing tomorrow. Any ideas for causes? I did just get new tires...

Comment

There is a nut which holds the front sprocket on the splined shaft. There is a lock washer that prevents the nut from loosening. If the lock washer was not locked down (or missing), the nut could have loosened. It's a long shot IMHO, but possible.
        I would sooner suspect the spacers that go between each tensioner bolt and the axle, since that entire assembly would have been removed and reinstalled by the tire installers.

Comment