Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fuel Gauge for my 81 GS650G

Good Afternoon Everyone!

I'll state right away that I'm new to motorcycles. I have been working on my 650 off and on through the winter and it's almost ready to come back to life! This weekend I'm replacing the stator and rectifyer. One of them is bad, not sure which, but after reading through all the postings I've decided to buy new parts from electrosport.com and put my charging worries to rest for good. I'm also replacing the cluch cable that snapped at the end of the season last year. I had fuel leaking from somewhere at the end of the season too, but I should be able to find that without a problem. If I don't, I'll come back to you all with that question as well.

My question for you all is this. My bike did not come with a fuel gauge of any kind. I have searched through the forums here and not found anything related to putting in an aftermarket fuel gauge. Have any of you done this? If so, where did you find the gauge? I have found several different dash computers that do everything under the sun, but the cost is too high, and I don't want that functionality. I just want to know how much gas I have in the tank! When I was a kid I remember some tank caps that had gauges in them. Do those still exist somewhere?

Please shoot some ideas! I really don't want to spend 150-300 dollars on something this basic!

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. cross.je,

If I'm reading the parts fiches right for the 1981 GS650G, the stock bike did not have a fuel gauge, no gauge on the instrument cluster and no fuel gauge send unit (float assembly) in the tank. I don't think there is any easy aftermarket solution. On my bikes that had no fuel gauge, I'd fill up after I had to flip the petcock to "reserve". No biggie. But let me welcome you to the forum. I'm glad you found us. The GS650G is a nice machine.