1981 GS650 GL won't fire

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1981 GS650 GL won't fire

Hello, All. OK, so I’m stuck. Possibly in over my head. Where to start… I am a complete newbie to all of this: Bikes, Engines, all of it. I have some mechanical aptitude, but never really got into fixing anything with a motor. So I decided last summer that I wanted a bike (call it a mid-life crisis if you like), but it had to be done on the cheap. I looked at it (and still do) as a great opportunity to learn about motors, electrical systems and the like.

So, with the help of my cousin (who IS knowledgeable in the area of bikes and mechanics) I found a CHEAP bike on craigslist and drove about 50 miles to buy it. It’s a 1981 GS650 GL. I bought it knowing that it wasn’t running, but optimistic that I could get it running with the help of my more experienced cousin.