Starter problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starter problems

I am kinda new to dealing with starters. Have a 1982 GS1100G, 34000 miles. Lately When ever I leave the bike sitting for a week or so I go to start the bike and it seems the starter is not engaging all the way. I hear clanking and sometimes the starter just spins. After the bike is warmed up its fine the rest of the day. I'm worried that something may get damaged. Should I pull off the cover and check the starter clutch or just replace the starter first? Any help is appreciated. Thx.

When you said clacking - the first thing I thought, starter clutch.

Trouble I had was I could not see it till I remove the rotor (which wasnt easy).
    85 1150E

Comment

Starter clutch. You probably sheared off a bolt or two. Soon it will quit all together.
      Buy a rotor puller and take off the stator cover.
      It should come to you after that.
      Last edited by chef1366; 03-28-2010, 02:05 AM.
      1983 GS 1100E w/ 1230 kit, .340 lift Web Cams, Ape heavy duty valve springs, 83 1100 head with 1.5mm oversized SS intake valves, 1150 crank, Vance and Hines 1150 SuperHub, Star Racing high volume oil pump gears, 36mm carebs Dynojet stage 3 jet kit, Posplayr's SSPB, Progressive rear shocks and fork springs, Dyna 2000, Dynatek green coils and Vance & Hines 4-1 exhaust.
      1985 GS1150ES stock with 85 Red E bodywork.

Comment

Can you tell me where I can purchase a rotor puller? Thx

Comment

Originally posted by drjpb View Post
          Can you tell me where I can purchase a rotor puller? Thx
          I see them on Ebay all the time and places like Z1.
          Don't use heat because the magnets are glued on the rotor.
          Z1 Enterprises specializes in quality Motorcycle parts for Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki and Yamaha Classic Japanese motorcycles from the 1970's and 1980's.