My 1982 GS1100GL rebuild

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My 1982 GS1100GL rebuild

So I'm starting this thread as a record of what I'm doing, feel free to comment and give me some tips as I go since I'm a complete noob.

Before any work started my bike would start up right away with full to 1/2 choke. It would also stay running but wouldn't hold an idle without choke until well after it was warmed up and it wasn't a very good idle at that. I took it for a quick drive around the block to give myself a seat of the pants baseline and power was very sporadic but when it did kick in... wow... much faster than my last bike ('88 VS750GLP Intruder).

Please forgive my workshop, it's my parents garage since I don't have a garage at my apartment.

Notice the newspaper underneath for an oil leak due to a stripped oil filter housing bolt.

Notice the bent rear left turn signal bracket... I got a NOS one off ebay for $6.

Gauges look nice but the tack, fuel gauge, odometer & trip odometer don't work.
    Last edited by seant2h; 04-06-2010, 09:49 PM. Reason: fixed photo links
    1982 Suzuki GS1100GLZ
    1988 Suzuki VS750GLP SOLD 10/2009

So first things first. I'm pulling the carburetors to dip each one overnight and analyze the intake condition.

Upon dis assembly I found that the carburetor to cylinder head boots were fine but the o rings were shot, one even had a break with a 1/4" gap. One of the carburetor to air box boots was mangled from improper installation but the other three were fine. I'm going to try to salvage the boot for now because in a few months I'd like to put on a V&H exhaust w/ K&N pods along with a DynoJet kit. So for now, I'm going to try to tune the bike with the boot as is and if I have problems I may just spend the 10 bucks for a new one. It's not ripped, torn, or broken, just malformed so I think I should be fine.