• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

trouble!!! electrical pics needed

hi.........I'm new here

shocker no?
    i recently bought a new to me 1982 gs1100L
    i really like this bike even though i have yet to hear it run.

when i bought this bike i was made aware that it had electrical problems....come to find out rats found it and i had to install a new harness...well newer.
    however i have a couple of plugs missing from the component side and in the head light bay.

so my question is does anyone have pictures of the head light bay wiring all connected. i have the diagram but truct me i have need of a picture or some such thing. i found a black w/ white tracer that went nowhere but im sure it needs to go somewhere. the problem is i cant find a wire that is cut that it would have been connected to.

i can post pics if that helps but im really looking for the resident pro to point me in the right direction.

im not a wiring pro but i have done a few jeep harness converions and so forth so im not ignorant(completely)

any help is appreciated.
    thanks

Black/white wire is usually a ground wire and if it has a male bullet plug, it is seeking a female bullet socket connected to the harness side. The flashers and headlight are grounded to a quad female bullet connector on a black/white wire inside headlamp housing.

I suggest you take one component at a time and get it working, then you will find it less daunting, but you most likely will have to use the wiring diagram to guide you. Most of the wires will plug into the same colour wire. Keep the fuses out and start with main fuse and signal fuse only and try and get your brake light working, then the flashers, horn, then you start with lights and so on.
    If you have questions, try to post a picture and we will try and guide you.

Tip: Blow up the wiring diagram and colour the wires. The connectors are also shown on the diagram.

Comment