Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wiring harness clean-up / refurb - help needed

Hi, everyone.

I've spent the last two nights scouting around the new & old forums, and BassCliff's site to find instructions with photos of how to remove, clean, replace connectors (including exactly which connectors to buy, what sizes, how many, how to do the shrink wap, soldering, crimping, etc etc), and generally improve the electrical flow of my moto. I have a now-not-running 1982 GS650 GL that is not moving (I THINK) because of corrosion and crappy connections. At least, that's where I'd like to start.

Articles from the old forum collected in BassCliff's "electrical odds and ends" comes the closest, with great directions, but being a complete newbie to wiring, I have no clue about the hardware involved, or "how to do it". I'm a firm believer in "a picture is worth a thousand words", too, and find I understand things a lot better when there are photos involved. Any visuals anyone can point me toward would be very helpful. Thanks in advance!

Greetings and Salutations!!

Hi Mr. bigredhorse,

If you check the stator and r/r unit replacement guides on my site you'll see me using a crimper to install spade connectors. Different connectors require different crimpers. The actual hardware is up to you. I tend to replace bullet connectors with spade connectors. The molex connectors (having 3-8 connectors in one plastic housing) can be replaced with similar items, they do not have to be exact matches. Just whatever works for you. The current doesn't really care what connectors it flows through as long as they are tight and clean.

Even though you've been to my site, I'm going to give you the "mega-welcome" anyway, just because I like you....