Starts, runs, then won't start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starts, runs, then won't start

Ok...so, I've searched through the threads here, but I'm a noob to the site. If a similar posting is already on here, I apologize and ask that you send me to the appropriate link.

I have a problem and I'm pulling my hair out at this point. I have an 80 model GS550L that is basically stock. Aside from routine maintenance (carbs being rebuilt, oil changes, ect), all of the parts that have been replaced have been with OEM parts. I just bought it a few days ago from a fairly competent guy who took resonably decent care of it. We're just coming out of a harsh winter and the bike hadn't been ridden for the past few months, but again, it was pretty well maintained. It has the stupidly designed 1980 550 petcock, but from what I can tell, it's set right. I could be wrong, but I'll do more research on that just to be sure. It does idle kinda low (around 500 rpm), but I'll figure out how to adjust that as I go through the manuals. That's about everything that I know about the bike for now.

Now, here's the problem that I'm having. It will start up just fine, warm up just fine, and ride just fine for about 15 minutes. After that, if I stop it or it stalls out for any reason, it will not start back up again. I have to let it sit for a few hours and then it will do the same thing. I've spent more time pushing it home than I have riding it, so I would appreciate any help that you can give me!

Thanks!
    Eddie

Do you mean it won't crank at all, like the starter button won't work.

Or do you mean, it keeps cranking but wont actually fire up?

Comment

I would start with the fuel system, make sure the petcock is working. Go for a ride, (take an extra spark plug), when the bike quits ? pull a plug wire and attach to the spare plug and ground to the engine and crank it over, checking for spark
      Last edited by Guest; 04-12-2010, 10:05 PM.

Comment