Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing the Clutch Springs on my 1982 GS850

I knew this was a reality - but it might be more than I thought:

Over the past few weeks I discovered clutch slippage on hard acceleration that began around 6 or 7 thousand rpm. At the same time I discovered the bevel gear shaft problem that I have fixed.

I ordered new clutch springs and 2 gaskets (because I'm not good with gaskets) from Bike Bandit and they should be here before this weekend arrives.

I have two questions... related but significantly different:

#1 - Is there a good thread that I'm missing showing me how to change out the springs? The shop manual is not great on this and I'd rather not "follow my nose". There are mentions of "special tools" - I don't have any...

#2 - I was out for a spin yesterday - and I was driving the bike aggressively - well... for me anyway. I shifted while cornering from 1st to 2nd and... well... the clutch slipped WAY lower than normal (around 3k I think - though I'm not sure because I was not looking at the tach). I do not feel it was cable (or driver) related - here is why:

AFTER coming out of the turn I was accelerating and I heard a "chipping" noise from the clutch/engine - it was not loud, but it chipped faster as the rpms went up, and lower as they went down, and it definitely had a "connected to the crankshaft in some way or another" sound. It sounded as if something was scraping - the noise went away after 5 or 10 seconds and the bike sounded fine after that - but I rode my bike home and quite gingerly.

I have recently read threads here about clutch baskets and bolts scraping things so I might just be getting paranoid - or...

In any event, the clutch IS coming apart for inspection and I need some H-E-L-P!

I can't recall any particular thread about changing clutch springs, but here are some thoughts on the subject: