Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lower a GS450

Hello everyone,

I've got a couple of classic hondas and a modern ducati, but I'm new to the GS world. I picked up a 1982 GS450E as a learner bike for a friend of mine. She's 5'1", and has to tip-toe the bike. What's the best way to lower the standover height?

I all ready adjusted the pre-load on the suspension. Are there different rear shocks? A lowering bracket/kit? A different seat to swap on? I'm a pretty good tinkerer, but not much of a fabricator, so I'd like bolt-on items if possible. Looking to get around another inch or so.

TYIA!

EDIT: Also, the bike was a $600 purchase. Not looking to put a fortune into a learner bike.

What's wrong with tip toeing?

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Originally posted by tkent02 View Post
      What's wrong with tip toeing?
      I'm short as well and had to tip-toe and I'll say that it doesn't instill a feeling of confidence when you are first starting out. Come to a stop at an off-camber road, go to put your feet down, and oops, the bike is on the ground. I can't tell you how many times I dropped the bike when I first started out. But it did teach me to read the road and haven't dropped the bike since.

With that said, You can buy lower rear shocks, and drop the fork tubes. Or the easy way is to get thick soled boots. That's what I did.

Comment

Originally posted by Theo View Post

But it did teach me to read the road and haven't dropped the bike since.
        She has this bike to learn, right?

Comment

She has this bike to learn, right?
          True. Damn 10 characters

Comment

Maybe a 250 would have been a better choice for the first one.
            Got my wife a DR 200, it's light and short, and it's a hoot to ride.
            I've been on it the most of any of them lately.

Comment