GS450T Restoration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS450T Restoration

My dad has had a GS450T sitting in the garage for the last 20 years. Now that I am old enough to ride one I would like to get it running again. The bike is in pretty good shape, it's been inside for its whole sitting period. I'll be coming back here from time to time to ask for help as I'm a newbie. And hopefully I'll be able to post final restoration pics. I've been researching quite a bit and have a good idea of what I need to do just to see if I can get the engine running for now. At this point I have taken the carbs off as the throttle was stuck. After looking at it for awhile, it seems like I can't do anything to get the throttle and butterfly valves to move. Also, the float bowl is stuck to the gasket underneath it and I am afraid to damage it trying to pry it off. I have trying spraying both parts with WD-40. Is the carburetor shot? If not, what should I do to get these two parts unstuck?

Well at least you are starting out young..I am starting at 38 but anyway have you checked out bikecliff.com? He has compiled a huge amount of data and how-to's with these bikes. It is an invaluable resource. I have also been reading from http://www.dansmc.com/mc_repaircourse.htm this guy has a lot of good info also. He is more generic where Basscliff is more oriented to the Suzuki Gs series bike. Good luck and the search feature is your friend ....though sometimes I don't think it likes me too much. Once again welcome and enjoy your new found journey.

Comment

Cool, another 450! These seem to be popping out of the woodwork lately and it's great to see

I'm not full of helpful advice I'm afraid and I'm just tackling rebuilding my '81 450E at the moment, which I believe will be 1 year younger than your T.