Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

450s

Hello,
    New to this forum and to the GS. Picked up a 1981 GS450 I think the S model, cafe look in silver with blue trim 10,000miles. Bought it on a whim for a couple hundred, now wondering what to do with it. After draining the oil (more like a gas/water/oil mix, been sitting awhile. I put new plugs in it and charged the battery. It fired right up, takes awhile to warm up, rode around the yard. Haven't cleaned the carbs yet, it runs just so so. So I guess my question is what to do with it. Would like to turn it into more a cafe look, like this bike http://hammerprofolio.files.wordpres...50-by-lake.jpg
    However, before spending any more money, would like to have it checked it make sure It doesn't have any big issues. Im not a mechanic, so should I take it to a Suzuki dealer? What should I have them look for? Its $50 for a dyno test, is that worth it. How many miles do these 450s usually go without a rebuild. Or should I just part it, perfect tank and seat, are they worth anything. Thanks for any help, lots of newbe questions.
    Josh

First off, we need pictures.
    Secondly, you can probably fix any and all ills that the bike might have with the help of the members found here!

Daniel

Comment

I've got close to 21000 miles on my 450 and I paid $800.00 for it. I probally about $300 too much for it, but I don't plan on selling it and it has been alot of fun. I see them all the time for $500 or less in varying condition. These bkes seem to get neglected and abused. I think riders move on to something bigger. I've seen them with 50k on the clock. Pictures would be good. You can see pictures of mine in my album. No dealers!

Charlie G
      Last edited by Charlie G; 12-03-2010, 12:32 AM.
      sigpic
      83 GS1100g
      2006 Triumph Sprint ST 1050

Ohhhh!........Torque sweet Temptress.........always whispering.... a murmuring Siren

Comment