450l with a knock of some kind

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

450l with a knock of some kind

i keep hearing a knock of some sort coming from what sound's like the left side. my crappy video didnt pick up the noise... the knock only comes when it is warm. so my curiosity got the better of me today and i took the oil pan off. and this is what i found.

the flakes are of aluminum i believe they aren't magnetic. so i was wondering what you all thought? i am thinking the wrist pin is floating around and catching something after it heats up..
    what do you think it could be before i tear it all down and just look?

r00ster

I haven't any idea, but then I'm not an expert. It dosen't look good. I hope someone pops in says it's something simple. Wonder what a clutch basket is made of and if it could get chewded up?

cg
    sigpic
    83 GS1100g
    2006 Triumph Sprint ST 1050

Ohhhh!........Torque sweet Temptress.........always whispering.... a murmuring Siren

Comment

Originally posted by Charlie G View Post
      I haven't any idea, but then I'm not an expert. It dosen't look good. I hope someone pops in says it's something simple. Wonder what a clutch basket is made of and if it could get chewded up?

cg
      i ain't no expert either, i know them shavings don't look good. i took the side covers off and all looks good to me. there is no obvious marks or that any thing is loose. there wasn't any shavings in either of the side covers just in the pan.
      here is my clutch...

and the stator...

does any one else have any ideas where this metal could be coming from? it is not magnetic so i think i can assume its not a bearing, but like i said i am no expert by any far stretch of my imagination...

thanks

r00ster

Comment

Rooster,

You might want to post a thread in another section , as not as many people wander through the 2 cylinder area. The picture of the pan is not real clear, can you get a better one up?

cg
        sigpic
        83 GS1100g