Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What do you think of this GS450L for sale?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What do you think of this GS450L for sale?

The ad says it's a GS450L but doesn't say the year. He's asking $350 and it ain't too far from me. But here's what he says in the ad;

"The bike runs well. I'm no motorcycle mechanic, never will be, but she runs well for me. It does have a compression leak on the left side spark plug chamber. Kind of sounds like a card in the spokes. I'm told this is a $200-$300 repair (replacing the head). By checking with local mechanics and parts online, both verified this to be accurate. That means, you'd get a bike with a new head for $650, tops. Pretty good deal.
    I've chosen not to replace the head because the bike runs fine for me. I'm about 215 and I top out around 65. It's not a fast or heavy enough bike to take on the highway anyway, so for around town, that's plenty.
    New battery in November. Bike DOES NOT start currently. Has an electric starter, problem seems to lie there. Just no response from the starter. Bike will turn over doing the drop clutch method, if you have a big enough hill. Should be a cheap and easy fix, but you'll need a truck or trailer to haul it out of here more than likely."

It is a little disconcerting to me to think this 'heavyweight' is riding it in it's present condition. But I'm taking this before the pros on GS's, that's YOU GUYS! So tell me whatcha' think okay? Thanks guys...
    Here's a pic of the bike, can anyone guess the year???
    [IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/BRUCEB%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-6.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/BRUCEB%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-7.png[/IMG]