Gs450 can't figure this out.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gs450 can't figure this out.

I took a liking to my dads old bike and been trying all winter to get it running right. It had only 6k miles but sat for many years. When I did get it started it backfired constantly had almost no power. I had the carbs cleaned and it was better but still not right.
    After a couple hrs of sitting I noticed a puddle of gas under the bike and on top of that there is gas getting down into the oil and then it doesnt start. Change the oil it starts right up and the process repeats. There's Also an oil leak coming from the front of the top end so I know the gaskets are probably shot.
    I've always been a car guy so I'm new to tinkering with bikes but I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty. I found this forum and here I am looking for some experienced gs owners willing to help me out.

It's the petcock. There is a diaphragm that is supposed to open when getting a vacuum from the carbs. Either your petcock is on the prime position or the diaphragm is bad.

Comment

Also, have you checked your valves? Probably want to check the state of the intake O rings and boots and things while you're at it.
      1982 GS450E - The Wee Beastie
      1984 GSX750S Katana 7/11 - Kit Kat - BOTM May 2020

sigpic

450 Refresh thread: https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...-GS450-Refresh

Katana 7/11 thread: http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...84-Katana-7-11

Comment

What they said.
        sigpic
        83 GS1100g
        2006 Triumph Sprint ST 1050

Ohhhh!........Torque sweet Temptress.........always whispering.... a murmuring Siren

Comment

Obviously im gonna check the forum search when I get time after work today but i thought I'd ask as well.. Is there any tear down diagrams for the carbs and engine on the forums. I could do it without but would feel more comfortable with something to reference while I tackle this project.

Comment