gs400 exhaust recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs400 exhaust recommendations

I know this isnt the exhaust forum but i wanted it directed more towards the twins. I recently purchased a 78 gs400x that the PO started to cafe. Unfortunately he hacked off the mufflers so the bike is just running the headers. I want to fix this asap as i dont want to cause any damage to the motor. My question is what exhaust would be a good choice? Ive looked into the MAC 2into1 but not certain i want to deal with re-jetting if it is required? Ive found a set of stock pipes but most are in poor shape. Anyone have any recommendations? Im a NOOB so any help will be greatly appreciated! thanks

Use a stock set of headers and buy some cheap slippons. No jetting change required.

In this link you can see a few options.

Explore JC Whitney for premium auto parts & accessories, dive into car culture, & stay updated with the latest automotive events & tech trends

These specifficaly do not require jetting change.

Explore JC Whitney for premium auto parts & accessories, dive into car culture, & stay updated with the latest automotive events & tech trends

Shop around, because you can get the same slippons for around $48.

and the result is:

good luck
    Last edited by Mekanix; 05-28-2011, 05:06 PM.
    Stephen.
    1981 GSX540L "Frankintwin"
    1989 GS500E Resto-mod .

400 mod thread
    Photo's 1

Photos 2

Gs500 build thread
    GS twin wiki

Comment

Thank you very much!! How do you like the sounds?

Comment

love it, Its not too loud but has a nice tone at around 4400

of course down low it sounds like a chopper and up high like a rocket

Take a look at your spark plugs when you first start driving it and do a few plug chops at different RPM's and it will tell you if its safe to ride or if it will need some adjustment. Never know what else the PO might have changed.
        Last edited by Mekanix; 05-28-2011, 05:09 PM.
        Stephen.