81' GS 450t starting and idling issues.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

81' GS 450t starting and idling issues.

To start i'm new to riding and this is my first bike (i know the old bikes are more work but they look so good its hard not to want one!).
    So i got the bike about a month ago and it ran alright.

Then it started having some issues where it would die at about 30 mph when i was coming to a stop light. for a little while i had to shutter the throttle to keep the bike from dying on me while i was slowing. but i would idle fine once i was actually stopped.

then after a week or so the bike would die even when i was trying to keep it running with a little more throttle.

now the bike wont start with the electric start. It seems like there might be some connection issues but really i don't know a lot about bikes.

so what do you think i should do now?

Thanks in advance

Mr. Rogers

Welcome to the GSR and welcome to the joys and sorrows of owning a 30year old bike.
    I can't speak to exactly what's troubling you but I can say that there is a megaton of useful info here that the search button will reveal.
    I would recommend getting yourself a service manual and doing all of the preventative maintenance that may not have been done over the years. Also the electrical systems are notorious on these old bikes. So going through and cleaning or replacing all your electrical connections is advisable. Cleaning the carbs thoroughly i.e. taking them apart and dipping them in carb cleaner. I could go on and on but I'm sure some of the more experienced folk will be along to shine some light.
    By the way we really like pictures here so if you got any post 'em up.

Comment

Welcome to the forum. Where are you located? You should update your profile because there are people on here from all over the world. maybe someone would be local to you.