Shocks--Unforseen Issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shocks--Unforseen Issue

I'm upgrading the shocks on my Z1--1975 Kawasaki 900. Taking original shocks off and installing Hagons. I am keeping the original chrome shocks with reflector and storing them in the event I want to return it to stock.

Should be a 30-45 minute job--even though this is my first time. One side went on no problem. The other side is presenting an issue. I have a 4 into 1 Kerker header and so the bottom mounting bolt of the shock won't clear the end of the pipe. Loosened the pipe mount at the end but haven't been able to move pipe out far enough to clear the bolt. Also, don't want to create exhaust leaks trying.

There are two solutions that appear to me.
    1. Take the clamp off of where the megaphone end mounts on to the 4-into-one pipe and slide megaphone off pipe. This sounds simple but having worked on plenty of car exhausts there is always a problem getting the old unstuck and then reclamping without an exhaust leak resulting.
    OR
    2. Loosen the exhaust collars and flanges at the engine and try to get enough clearance to clear the bolt in the bottom shock mount.

Which of these two solutions is less likely to cause an exhaust leak after all the loosening, pulling, and wiggling is over?

Or is there a better way to accomplish my goal?

If the can comes off the header do that. No need in loosening the exhaust gaskets at the head if avoidable.
    MY BIKES..1977 GS 750 B, 1978 GS 1000 C (X2)
    1978 GS 1000 E, 1979 GS 1000 S, 1973 Yamaha TX 750, 1977 Kawasaki KZ 650B1, 1975 Honda GL1000 Goldwing, 1983 CB 650SC Nighthawk, 1972 Honda CB 350K4, 74 Honda CB550

NEVER SNEAK UP ON A SLEEPING DOG..NOT EVEN YOUR OWN.

I would rather trust my bike to a "QUACK" that KNOWS how to fix it rather than a book worm that THINKS HE KNOWS how to fix it.

Comment

Shocks

Will the wheel move up into the fender well with both the top mounts undone, giving you more clearance???