New to me 1983 GS750ES with 5K miles!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to me 1983 GS750ES with 5K miles!

Hi there GSR, I've been lurking and absorbing lots of GSR knowledge for a couple of months but decided to finally post and introduce myself and my bike.

I'm Mike from Utah, USA. I'm new to GS bikes, but not motorcycles in general, been riding for almost 20 years and enjoy working on bikes almost as much as riding them. As crazy as it might seem to some, when I was 10 my father was killed on his motorcycle, broadsided by a DHL Air Freight truck driver, but I still love to ride. I'm not overly superstitious, but I am Mike Jr...So I ride hyper-aware and as defensively as possible.

I've owned several bikes over the over the years, an 84 Honda Nighthawk 700, an 82 Yamaha Virago 750, an 03 Suzuki Marauder 800 and currently own a couple of other bikes, 2) little 1980 80cc Yamaha trail/street bikes and another 83 - a Honda V45 750 Magna, but it's in pieces. I'm in the process of putting a new/used motor in it.

A friend of mine recently decided to get rid of his 1983 GS750ES that has only ~5000 miles on it and so I snatched it up!

Other than the blinkers and Kerker 4-1 header/pipe and consequent center stand removal, she's stock and quite clean. Must've sat somewhere for years. When I took the wheels in a couple of weeks ago to get my new tires put on it, they told me it looked like it was the original front tire! The tread was fine, but it had cracks and dry rot all throughout it.