NJ Newbie here - 1983 GS1100G

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NJ Newbie here - 1983 GS1100G

Hi all. I just picked up my first bike yesterday. Its a 1983 Suzuki GS1100G with 13k miles. I had been looking for an inexpensive starter bike for a few months now and came across this guy in a small parking lot with a For Sale sign on it. After talking to the owner a few times over the phone and via text, I went to go look at it in more depth last night and take it for a test ride. It came home with me!

The bike shows its age, but is in really good shape for a 31 year old. Its a little choppy when you first get going, but after it warms up, it smooths out. I'm thinking the carbs need cleaning and syncing.

I'm a straight up baby when it comes to riding. I've ridden scooters on vacations and a small dirt bike like once or twice many moons ago.

I'm hoping to learn a lot about the bike from everyone here.

When I saw her for sale...

Loaded and on the way home!!

Very nice. Carbs and valve adjustment ASAP.

Comment

That's pretty clean. How much did you pay for it?

Comment

$700. It was a steal! I'm only the 3rd owner...

Comment

Welcome to the site, and good luck with the cycle....It looks good. We're practically neighbors......well youre the closest GSR member to me anyway.....
          sigpic
          When consulting the magic 8 ball for advice, one must first ask it "will your answers be accurate?"

Glen
          -85 1150 es - Plus size supermodel.
          -Rusty old scooter.
          Other things I like to photograph.....instagram.com/gs_junkie
          https://www.instagram.com/glen_brenner/
          https://www.flickr.com/photos/152267...7713345317771/

Comment

I do not consider an 1100 a starter bike for anybody. But a good buy for sure.

Comment

Welcome! Very fine $700.00 bike. It'll stretch your arms if you let it.

cg
              sigpic
              83 GS1100g
              2006 Triumph Sprint ST 1050