I have two problems!! help please!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have two problems!! help please!!

I recently aquired a 1979 GS1000E and i have a few issues i would like to address before i screw it up royally.

1) when i rev the bike in neutral and let off i hear a buzz on the side of the clutch housing. its only when i let off and sometimes when i am shifting it makes the buzz also when i disengage the clutch.

2) when i am riding the bike sometimes at low speed, but mostly at around 55mph and up (when i am trying to keep a steady speed) it surges and also sputters.

I am new to the bike so i am ready to start working on it, however i just need a direction to start my process.

Thanks All.

My guess for problem #2 is carbs. Note that a certain amount of steady throttle surge is considered normal for my bike ('82 1100e), and might be for yours also.
    1982 GS1100E V&H "SS" exhaust, APE pods, 1150 oil cooler, 140 speedo, 99.3 rear wheel HP, black engine, '83 red

2016 XL883L sigpic Two-tone blue and white. Almost 42 hp! Status: destroyed, now owned by the insurance company. The hole in my memory starts an hour before the accident and ends 24 hours after.

Comment

there is a large bolt in your clutch housing that is natorious for coming loose, it "might" be that, or it might be something else. It's often refered to as "clutch rattle" but you usually hear it as a rattle when the bike is idling in neutral, and pulling the clutch in makes it go away. A buzzing sound could easily be a loose heat shield that is down under the clutch cover. Surging and sputter could be a number of things, you need to get familiar with the bike and start to do some routine maintenance. Download a manual from Cliffs site if you don't have one already and start doing some reading on the site, the search function will give your reading for weeks. Glad to hear you're willing to work on your own bike, it's the best way.

Rob