Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ambitious Newbie, UK

Hi All,

I'm a mid 20s newbie from Oxford, UK with 3 GS's posting for the first time ever in a forum! I've had my first GS850 for about a year and a half now and having done some small short distance camping tours and love the bike. From the research I've done, I'm pretty sure it's a UK registered '87 GS850G, it was a fairly ropy machine having appeared to live near the coast. Me and my dad have serviced and done a few bits to to get it road worthy and it's pretty reliable but there is definitely more to be done including the introductory list which I'm hoping to use the welcome and newbie mistakes thread for. (I've tried uploading a photo... not sure why it's not working jpg and png format, any tips?).

I bought another non-running "GS850" donor - lots of the wiring was more or less melted and it didn't come with many electrical components or gear linkage but the frame and accessories were pretty decent. I haven't got very far with this but it turns out that the other machine actually appears to be a GS1000 US import judging from 1. the VIN code, 2. the larger outlet on the carbs(indicating larger engine) and 3. the seat doesn't fit my GS850 frame (indicating import?).

Lastly, I have a project GS550(E?) that hasn't been touched much while I've been alive. The frame's been professionally cut down for my mother's shorter legs, the base of a seat made and the engine has had a meticulous nuts and bolts restoration but from there it has more or less been abandoned. My plan is to see the GS550 back on the road running as new with a little custom style due to the chopped frame then move on to one of the other two to create a bulletproof tourer.

I appreciate all the advice and suggestions anybody here can give! Particularly looking for reasonably priced and friendly part suppliers in the UK and any more info on finding out more about the GS1000.

Cheers!

First of all,