New here with my GS850GL!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New here with my GS850GL!

Hi everybody! New here and I hope to learn a lot from you guys. Here's my story.

I'm currently 22 and live in Southern Maryland where I was born and raised. I've been riding for about 3 years now. My starter bike was a 2001 Yamaha Virago 250. It's a nice little bike. Lightweight, quiet, smooth, reliable... scratch that. She left me stranded once and I had to come back with a truck to get her, lol. Anyway, I've been riding that for a couple years and this past spring I figured I really need to move up to a bigger bike. So the search began.

I found a few nice deals, but one bike really stood out to me. It was this GS850GL. The previous owner did't know too much about engines, but yet he was trying to do all sorts of work to it. Needless to say, when I bought the bike, it was bought as a "project." He told me it just needed some carb work done, but I knew better than that. I didn't buy just the bike. He sold the bike, plus another bike and a half worth of parts along with it, including another engine. I wasn't looking for a project. I was looking for a reliable (and already running) bike to hit the roads with. But once I found this, I couldn't pass the deal up. He was selling everything he had for $1,000. Sold.