My new/old 1981 GS650G

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My new/old 1981 GS650G

Hello everyone, I am new to road bikes, been riding dirtbikes for about 20 years been wrenching on them for about that long as well. Starting to approach my 30s and looking at new hobbies.

Here is my new 1981 Suzuki GS650G I bought this bike for $200. It is rusty most of the chrome is pitted good and tons of rust, The pictures are from when I took it off my truck the day I bought it.

I have been rubbing it with tin foil and that has made a huge difference (sorry no pics yet) I don't have the money to buy all new stuff or have the parts rechromed so I am going to take the rust down to bare metal and buff the metal to look like chrome. I hope this bike doesn't cost a fortune.

I still don't have the paperwork for the bike so I can't spend any money on it until I get that. I'v been told the previous registered owner passed away 15 years ago but it might still take a month or two.

You did good as even without a title what you have is easily worth twice that in just a few parts. Where are you located? Perhaps one or more GSR members are near you and could help you get it sorted out.

Comment

For $200 you have done well. The best part is that even though the 650G is a little weird in that not many parts are found on other models, there does seem to be no shortage of parts available through EBay, etc...

The pipes are in rough shape, but if the baffles are intact, and the rust is only on the surface, you should be happy with them derusted/buffed/painted...

Seems like you might be near a coast, based on the powdery appearance of the cases.

What is the sticker on the right fork?
      '83 GS650G
      '83 GS550es (didn't like the colours in the 80's, but they've grown on me)

Comment

Originally posted by BigD_83 View Post