Collapse
No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi everyone. Shane here. Just acquired a bike from a friend....he decided to purchase a new bike and didn't know what to do with his old one so he gave it to me! Im a lucky guy (hopefully). Bike is a 1981 Suzuki GS1000L from what he tells me and what is on the side of the bike. I have been told and shown that the bike starts great but is not running very well....wont run for long and will not idle properly. Haven't had a chance to even look at it yet as I just picked it up yesterday and got it into the garage. Winter has arrived here now so I guess i have about 7 months to get this bad boy running top notch. Will be browsing the forums trying to learn as much as i can and by the looks of things i have a lot to learn....know very little about bikes but want to learn. Im a sparky by trade but have dabbled in mechanics for a while now so I'm not afraid to take things apart and check them out.
    Anyhow just thought I would say Hi and thank everyone for being a part of the is community - I'm sure there are some great people on here that will be an awesome resource for a new GS owner. Really hope when the snow melts i will be able to take it for a ride. Here is a pic of the bike!
    Cheers!
    IMG_5551.jpg

Wow! nice friend! If it's been sitting a while probably needs carbs rebuild. Check out Basscliff's welcome in this section and you'll find tons of info. terrylee

Comment

Originally posted by SknirB View Post
      so he gave it to me! Im a lucky guy (hopefully).
      In my opinion recieving any free bike makes you a lucky person. terrylee is right, probably just needs a carb rebuild. My bike sat for many years when I procured it. Once I rebuilt the carbs she started right up:-)

Comment

Welcome!

Welcome, yes...very nice friend indeed. I paid $475 for my "T" and the guy rebuilt the carbs and changed the clutch plates.