gs650e help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs650e help

18519841_10208525142994137_4264725497145331113_n.jpgHey guys I was told that I was posting in the wrong place before so I'm posting here, thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer, cuz i need it. Sorry if this is long and boring also lol. I have a 81 gs650e, it's been sitting for at least a year or two after it started have charging problems. It stayed on as long you were giving it throttle, but it would die otherwise, needed jumpstarts every time etc. Now, I got it running and it's obvious that the engine needs work as well.
    I have no experience with engines so I have no idea what's going on, but I'm assuming it's going to need everything short of a rebuild. It probably doesn't have the right compression, it's smoking, and just doesn't sound good at all lol. It needs a new clutch and cable too, new chain etc. It's also going to need a new handlebar since it fell over in the garage and broke a handle, along with the entire dash (lost it).

So assuming I need this:

Engine work and carbs, clutch and cable, chain, new charging system, battery, brakes, tires, handlebar, dash (with gear indicator), and gas tank cleaned

Is this a bike worth fixing? Or should I get a new bike entirely? This was my first bike so I'm relatively attached to it, and it still looks beautiful imho (I'll attach pictures), so I don't really want to get rid of it unless costs more than a new bike (5k) to do this work . The trade in right now is only like $350 so not looking at getting much either way.

My next question is, do I need a specialty guy to fix all this, or can any motorcycle mechanic do this with this bike? I'm willing to do it myself and learn on the go (I have the manual), but I have no idea where to get these parts, what parts I can get (if the bike is too old), and have never worked on a motorcycle before (no tools). I'd also like this to not take a crazy long amount of time.