Damaged steering stem while removing lower bearing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Damaged steering stem while removing lower bearing

I used a chisel set to get my lower bearing off. I wasn't paying close enough attention and I put a deep gouge in the stem. Probably needs to be replaced, right?

Okay, so the 78 GS1000 and the 79 GS1000 have different part numbers for the triple tree. Does anybody know why?

1978 GS1000EC 51400-49810

1979 GS1000EN 51410-49070

Am I correct that the C means 1978, and the N means 1979? Some of the websites seem to offer both models for both years...

I haven't found a part fiche that calls those interchangeable or superseding one another.
    Last edited by Guest; 05-04-2018, 05:32 AM.

Comment

I ended up ordering one because I am not comfortable with the risk. But here are the photos.
      20180504_184149.jpg

Comment

Photo two20180504_184115.jpg

Comment

I'm no expert, but I would have replaced that too.
          Current: 2014 BMW R1200GS, 2009 Triumph Tiger 1050, 1996 DR350SE
          Previous: 2022 GSX-S1000GT+, 2007 GSF1250SA Bandit, 2008 DL1000 V-Strom, 1977 GS750B

Comment

Originally posted by lemonshindig View Post

1978 GS1000EC ...

1979 GS1000EN ...

Am I correct that the C means 1978, and the N means 1979? ..............
            Yes, The C and the N are year codes like you said. Model Year, not year of build.

I cant say anything about the difference in part number between the two years.

Had 850G for 14 years. Now have GK since 2005.
            GK at IndyMotoGP Suzuki Display... ... GK on GSResources Page ... ... Euro Trash Ego Machine .. ..3 mo'cykls.... update 2 mocykl

Comment

Can the stem be changed with a manual press? The guys at the auto hobby shop think I have to go somewhere with a hydraulic press. But they do have a manual one.

Comment

Personally, I would not worry about it.

Comment