Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

questions on an 83 gs750e

:roll: few questions for an 83 gs750e

here goes, i dug the bike out of a few years of storage, cleaned the carbs and stuff but she still seems a bit sluggish any ideas?
    next
    what should the spark plug gap be?
    next
    what settings should i set the rear swing arm for normal city riding and occasional rips down the back roads?
    next
    what is the story of the front forks? is there a sitting for them?
    how do i fix one of the posts on the side covers that broke off?
    i am new to this bike and absolutely love it so far. also, i was told i can find free service manuals online. anyone know where?

Plug gap should be.024-.028 inches. Suspension wise forget anything the manual might tell you about set-up. Instead put the bike on its centerstand. At the rear with the wheel off the ground measure the distance from the axle center to a point straight up on the frame somewhere. Then put the bike on the ground with your weight on it. Measure that distance again. The difference in the two measurements is called sag. For a soft ride shoot for about 1.5 inches of sag. For aggresive riding shoot for about 1 inch of sag. Adjust this with the large knob on the left side of the bike. The smaller knob is for damping. Start with that knob at 2 or 3. If the bike pogos and doesn't settle down quickly after the suspension is upset you need a higher number. If it chatters after hitting a series of quick little bumps you need less damping.