Hopeful Owner Needs Assistance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hopeful Owner Needs Assistance

Hi everyone! Just wanted to say thanks to everyone who participates in this website, as it seems to have tons on info. I am new to riding and looking at purchasing a 78 GS550. This would be my first bike ever!

I am wondering if anyone can provide advice as to what to look and not look for when examining one of these bikes.

The one I am looking at has 28,000 kilometres, has some new exhaust, (4 into 1), decent tires, front 90% rear 70%, and a new seat. Now the bike seems to run fine, but what should I look for?

I've heard mixed reactions on the charging system. I am becoming bewildered fighting the internal battle in my mind as to what I think is good, and not good.

Any replies, tips, and assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Andrew
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Looking for Mr. Goodbar.. er.. Bike

8)The bike you're looking at sounds good. The mileage is about 15-20 K miles? My '79 gs550e has 30K on it and is running stronger than ever. The biggest problems I've had were with carbs and timing, both resolved this morning. She pulls 9-10 G on the tach without a hitch. ONE BIG difference though! Until last august mine had been sitting under a clump of trees in pieces for 5 yrs. Someone had put in an electronic ignition that failed. Rather than spend $160 forr a new one on a questionable piece of iron, I went out to Jordan Mn., to Sport Wheels, and bought a used point plate and hardware, new points and condensers for $20, and installed them. Bingo Bango, a running bike. This spring I repaired the intake manifold leaks, cleaned out the carbs, set the float levels, and finally, today, reset my timing with a light. Look out Minnesota!

Comment

Andrew,