81 GS1100E mods

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

81 GS1100E mods

I have a stock 81 GS1100E. I have bought a 1261 block and pistons and a set of Cam Motion G21/G5 cams. I am new to hopping up motorcycles. I have built several drag cars over the years but this is the first bike. I plan to drive it on the street mostly with some drag racing. Where is a good place to find gasklets for this and some info on hoppinf up these bikes. Will my stock carbs work? It has a Mac 4into2 exhaust on it know with that work ok. I am wondering if the cams may be to big for what I want to do. I bought all of this stuff from someone who had it sitting around but it has not been used. Thanks for any help

Do you realize that a kit of that size can not be installed without having the cases bored out to accomodate the larger sleeves???

Comment

The block came with sleeves already installed. Or does the crank case also need to be bored out?

Comment

I believe that is what i said in the post--Usually you cant go over 3mm oversized without splitting the cased and having the sleeves fit to them. The 3mm gives you about 1166cc

Comment

I did not know that. Like I said this is the first time I have tried to do anything to a bike other regular maintence. I don't feel like getting that much into for now. I would guess that the cams I have are too much for a stock motor without more compression and extra cc.

Comment

Originally posted by Benny R
            I did not know that. Like I said this is the first time I have tried to do anything to a bike other regular maintence. I don't feel like getting that much into for now. I would guess that the cams I have are too much for a stock motor without more compression and extra cc.
            Sell the kit and just over bore the barrels to1166cc get higher compression pistons and while you have it apart get a street porting

Comment

Benny,