Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

V&H Chrome Megaphone... do i really need to rejet?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

V&H Chrome Megaphone... do i really need to rejet?

I just got a stock '82gs1100e, its 9/82 so it's actually an ED, black motor etc. First I have to take care of the bad compression issues :? psi: 120-70-90-120... rings may be stuck, I'm trying some Marvel Mystery Oil for now but will tear apart the engine if I need to. It only has 16k miles on it, and it's gorgeous. Anyway, I want to get a header. It's mostly a commuter bike, I'm a student, but i like the 4-1 sound and weight loss, so I'm just thinking I'll get the V&H Chrome megaphone, and I want to know how much of an issue rejetting will be, if I make no other mods? DennisKirk says "rejetting recommended for maximum performance."
    Thanks,
    -Lehrin

You can try not rejetting, but be prepared to need too. I expect you'll need to put a stage 1 in it, I would probably just buy the kit (@ $35 you can't lose). It's easy to put in, and will probably make your life easier.

Comment

I agree with the above. Just make sure you get ALL other engine issues sorted (tune-up) out before doing any carb work or you may end up chasing your tail.

Comment

Dennis kirk recommends rejetting for all aftermarket exhausts. I went to a 4 int 1 and didn't have to jet, but I used a mac system. (close to stock replacement). V n H is usually geared toward performance, and jetting will be necessary for a performance system. If you're looking to go lighter with a better sound, and not jet, kerker and mac both make systems that shouldnt require a jet kit, I think jardine makes one too. Good luck, Dominick.....

Comment