Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is this bike size primarily used for?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is this bike size primarily used for?

Hello all,
    I am a newbie to the bike world, I have a question about performance. and comfort. I hope this is the right forum for this.
    I recently was GIVEN an 82 GS650G. My question is, what is this bike size good for? can I comfortably cruise on long trips? is it good for shooting around town? I have heard that this is a good starter bike, but Im wondering why and what I can expect after I get it running.. (Performance wise)
    Any info will be greatly appreciated
    Tom

What you have, my friend, is a gen-u-wine early-80's Universal Japanese Motorcycle, or UJM. What this means is that they'd start with a basic standard design. Put on some wild graphics, superbike bars, maybe a little fairing, and it's a sport bike. Add a big fairing and hard bags, and it's a tourer. Put on a teardrop tank and a stepped seat, decorate with some extra chrome, and it's a cruiser.

I started on a GS650GL, very similar to your bike, though the L models have the smaller teardrop-shaped gas tank. I used it as an all-around city bike, for highway driving, everything. I forget the rear-wheel horsepower/torque numbers, but it's got enough to accelerate from 0 to stupid in only a few seconds.

Since this is your first bike, I'd suggest using it to develop your skills, just getting around or making short trips, and then build up to longer ones. Work on your bike when it needs it, to learn bike fixing. You won't out-accelerate the sports bike crowd, but that should be okay; with huge acceleration also comes greater risk. You'll still be able to beat almost any car taking off from a stoplight.

Comment

When I statrted riding I could only dream of a bike as big as a 650!! (late 70s). If you read modern bike testers anything less than a thousand is only for short trips and quick fangs.....