Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help me to rebuild my bike (Sad story)....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me to rebuild my bike (Sad story)....

Hello,
    - 6 months ago, a neigbour proposed me to restore my GS1000G for cheap. The job should have been done quickly. However, he did not want to give the bike back. I then had to declare that to police.
    - Yesterday I have been allowed to take my bike back, but she is in part and pieces, missing tank, side panels, rear cowling and perhaps other pieces.
    - I have now to put everything back together and find missing parts (mainly tank). The engine is in the frame, the shaft is in place as well as the wheels.
    - Where should I begin: wiring loom, gear selector, speedo???
    I think you help me to start this new project (I am not a mechanic).
    Thanks
    Olivier

So sorry to hear this! Well, it's time to start over again. First things first- if you havent yet, check the frame and motor V.I.N. numbers to make sure you got back YOUR bike- be a shame if he did a switch on you. If not... well, first thing to get is the best Suzuki shop manual you can afford, you are about to become a GS Mechanic I think. Let us know what you do next, plenty of help in here! -Joe in Boise

Comment

Yes this is really my bike and my engine, The numbers are clear. I have a manual but does not explain what should go first..
      Thanks.
      Olivier

Comment