Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm riding home. It's raining. My boss is PANICKING!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm riding home. It's raining. My boss is PANICKING!

Not much of a story, but I'm just this moment preparing to head home after a hard day in the salt mines. It's about 60 degrees F and raining lightly. My ride home is about 65 miles, half interstate highway by the shortest route.

My boss, a Hardley-Ableson polishing noob, is PANICKING! He thinks riding in the rain is certain bloody DEATH! Even worse, it could put spots on the paint! Mud on the chrome! OH, THE HUMANITY!

He actually tried to order me to stay in Indy at his house tonight. Heh. This ain't the military.

In case you're wondering, I have over 15 years of safe riding experience, often in much worse conditions (like the Brown County SCUBA ride). I'm well-trained, experienced, and properly equipped. My tires are fairly new, and my bike is running great. Light rain is really no big deal. Really.

Anyone else have to deal with panicking non-riders or noobs? It's kinda funny, but pretty annoying, too. He finally gave up and went home.

I'll check back in about an hour and a half. Unless...
    1983 GS850G, Cosmos Blue.
    2005 KLR685, Aztec Pink - Turd II.3, the ReReReTurdening
    2015 Yamaha FJ-09, Magma Red Power Corrupts...
    Eat more venison.

Please provide details. The GSR Hive Mind is nearly omniscient, but not yet clairvoyant.

Celeriter equita, converteque saepe.

SUPPORT THIS SITE! DONATE TODAY!

Get "The Riding Obsession" sport-touring motorcycling podcast at https://tro.bike/podcast/ or wherever you listen to podcasts!

I'm ALIIIIIIVE!!

Made it home just fine. Like I knew I would.

Not even any scares, really. The rain was light to heavy the whole trip.

I passed one guy on a Hardley. He looked pretty miserable in his silly half-helmet and useless, soggy leather. At least he wasn't cowering under an overpass.
    1983 GS850G, Cosmos Blue.