Need "survivor" stories!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need "survivor" stories!

Fellow bikers, after my buddies accident, some friends and family are raggin' on the few of us that love to ride in our friends and family circle :? Give me some survivor stories to share with them! Does anyone know any crash stats for cars and bikes. I know bikers are more careful than cagers as a whole right?

I am new to motorcycling (having bought my GS850 in June, this year).

About 1 month after I purchased it, I went down going at at speed upwards of 65 kmph. I did not get physically harmed, surprisingly and luckily, however the mental change is the most important.

After I fell, I have generally been a better rider, being more aware, cautious, and experienced in extreme-response situations. Some would say that crashing / going down, is a good thing. I agree, assuming the person is not hurt too badly, because it is an important lesson, which may prevent even worse accidents in the future.

The most important thing, is to have learned from the lesson.

matt

Comment

All I can say is, when anybody gives me the old "motorcycles are so dangerous, you're not even strapped in" I always reply "well, no-one's ever been trapped inside a burning motorcycle."

After a biker is killed and it makes the news, people invariably say "you should stop riding." The only possible answer is "I don't tell you to stop driving every time somebody dies in a car accident, do I?"

Hardly the statistics you're looking for, but most of these comments are hardly based on logic or common sense anyway, so a simple rebuke will usually clam people up.

Comment

When someone starts nattering about how "Uncle Joe kilt hisself on on 'o them devil machines" I normally ask three questions:

Was he sober?

Was he wearing a helmet (or any protective gear)?

Was he trained or even licensed?

Invariably, the answer to all three questions is "no" and I consider the point made.